How it all started.

Why do I love to travel?

I think it all started when I entered high school. At the age of 11, I was sent to Los Baños, Laguna (I live in Iloilo City, so that’s somehow distant for a kid that age) to study in an arts school where there is an opportunity to go to different places to showcase our talents. As far as I can remember, during my first year, the farthest place that I have gone to was Masbate. In the succeeding years, we’ve gone to places such as Southern Leyte, Cebu, Pampanga, and even in some parts of Laguna and Metro Manila. Every time we have a performance or an outreach, packing was very challenging with all the costumes and props we have to carry. However, it’s just simply fun because my schoolmates and I do it altogether in our dormitory. The fun part also is the traveling itself. That is usually our free time and at the same rest days from rehearsals and exams. So, it could either be a land trip or boat trip, I always had so much fun that I knew I’d still want to continue seeing other places after high school.

Adarna: D'wata at Sayaw

Adarna: D’wata at Sayaw

In college, I didn’t have a lot of escapades until I joined the mountaineering club. I was only able to climb the nearby mountains in Miagao, hence the travel time was just short. We only have to take a jeepney or a tricycle to reach the foot of the mountain. The farthest town that I’ve gone to for mountaineering was in Silay City, Negros Occidental (Mt. Patag) and in Batangas (Mt. Daguldol). But it didn’t stop there, all the more it made me thirsty to conquer other places in the country.

Mount Napulak

Mount Napulak

When I had my first job in Cebu, I said to myself, I will go to different places now that I can have it on my own way. No more classes and exams to consider, I can choose whatever place I want and I will be managing my own budget. So there, since 2009, I’ve been travelling in the country. Either I am with my family, friends or special someone, a planned one or a surprise trip, I know travelling has always been a part of me.

Camiguin's White Island. Photo by Nelson.

Camiguin’s White Island. Photo by Nelson.

Leave a Reply

